Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need help shopping for first printer

Posted by gogo2390 
Need help shopping for first printer
November 09, 2013 07:14PM
I've always wanted to get a 3d printer, but it was too hard to justify the cost for a hobby. I'm a mechanical engineer and the company I work for keeps paying [way too much] for rapid prototypes to be made. After just spending over $400, my plan is to get my own printer and make the prototypes for work.... then take home some extra money on the side.

I've never seen any prints from a reprap/consumer grade printer, and I don't want to get something that may be too inaccurate to be useful. What realistic resolution can I expect? How does that differ between models?

Size: at least 8"x8" Price : < $750

I like to fiddle with things and would much rather have a kit than a preassembled plug and play printer (wheres the fun in that??)

This has led me to either a prusa i3 or a Mendelmax 1.5....i2's seem really cheesy (feel free to convince me otherwise)

At this point, I'm leaning towards the MendelMax. They appear to be more sturdy/professional looking than the prusa's (extrusions instead of threaded rods), and supposedly easier to assemble.

Regardless of price and appearance I can't really tell what is good/bad in any of these kits. To a newbie, the specs all seem roughly the same. Electronics, belts/pulleys, etc.. The steppers aren't very well documented (degrees/step, holding torque), so its hard to compare those. If something is bad, I figure I can at least upgrade the parts.

The MendelMax from 3dbotic is the one I've been most interested in, but noticed that the print platform is MDF rather than aluminum...does it matter?
[3dbotic.com]