Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Large build plate ideas please.

Posted by hcker2000 
Large build plate ideas please.
November 20, 2013 02:51PM
So I'm building a rather large i3. The rough size is three square feet. Needless to say the stock frog plate (i think thats what its called) wont work. So I need some feedback on a good way to mount a build surface to this beast. I need to keep it light weight as I'm still using nema17 motors. I will be printing pla mostly and am not planing on running a heated bed at this point. I'm thinking of using square stock aluminum for the frame and topping with 1/8" plywood or lexan. I guess the only problem I see with that is that the aluminum under frame is whats holding up the flexable plywood or lexan. This would mean that to level the bed I would need to shim the frame where it meets the printed lm8uu holders. Would that work ok?
Re: Large build plate ideas please.
November 20, 2013 05:05PM
I'm not a mechanical engineer by trade, but I'm experiencing a multitude of reactions to your plan.

1) This sounds really, really cool.
2) This guy/gal is going to have to go with something beefier than 8mm smooth rods to ensure that axis travel isn't bowed under the weight of those rods, particularly on X.
3) Regardless, that is going to be one heavy bed. I wonder if nema 17s can handle it.
4) Any print that takes advantage of all that build volume is going to take a very, very long time with typical nozzle sizes. Weeks, maybe.
5) If I were to try to build a printer this big, I'd probably use that as an excuse to explore a corexy or delta implementation to move the nozzle around, and let the bed move in Z, if at all.
6) Should this project advance, I want to see videos.

Good luck.
November 20, 2013 07:19PM