Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My first RepRap build and experiences

Posted by JHart96 
My first RepRap build and experiences
January 28, 2014 06:48PM
Hello Everyone,

My name is Jordan and I'm a 17 year old student in the UK. Over the past Christmas holidays I put together my first RepRap. It took me a year to source the materials as I wanted to spread the cost a bit. I decided to start this thread to share my own experiences in putting together a Prusa Mendel i2 and the modifications I have made myself to it, in the hope that others can learn from my mistakes and that I can learn from other much more experienced people in the RepRap community.

I ordered the printed parts from ebay, which set me back around £55. This was one of the larger investments in the project. The parts came with Greg's Accessible Extruder, however I didn't like the bevelling on the edge of the gear as they didn't seem to mesh as well as I would've hoped, and I believe the Hot-End mount was designed for the Arcol Hot-End. I am using a J-Head MKVII which I also bought from eBay (I got pretty much everything from there) and found that the extruder would've needed a fair bit of modification and I really wanted something that would work out of the box. I opted to buy an extruder that would fit my Hot-End and also have nice deep teeth on the gears, the only drawback was that it is purple, and the rest of my printer is white. I am using the Sanguinololu 1.3a with StepStick drivers.