Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Carbon Fiber Prusa i3 build thread

Posted by cmerce 
Carbon Fiber Prusa i3 build thread
May 13, 2014 04:38AM
Hello everyone!

My name is Cody and I've been into 3d printing for the last year or so. I've built a large Prusa Mendel i2 with a build platform of 300x275x150mm which is my main printer. It is well built and can do .1mm layer height with no problems, but I've always loved the look and simplicity of the i3 and knew I'd have to make one for myself one day.

Not just a standard aluminum or wood frame would do for my second 3d printer build. I had something more exotic in mind...Making carbon fiber is what I do for a living; recently I received a degree in material science. I've set up composite manufacturing facilities from the ground up, passed crash tests with racing seats I've designed, built prosthetic legs, wind turbines, hoods for cars and lots more.

I thought to myself for months how cool it would be to make a carbon fiber i3! The hard part was coming up with a molding method that would create a 6mm carbon fiber panel that was glossy on both sides. After a few experiments and trials, I came up with a layup for the perfect carbon fiber panel. I took it to my local waterjet shop here in Washington. We have a lot of aerospace fab shops in this area, so it wasn't hard finding one close to home. They made me a prototype carbon fiber frame and were so excited about the project they offered to waterjet more of my carbon fiber panels in exchange for an assembled i3. Score! So luckily I have a few extra carbon fiber frames if anyone is interested. There is a ad in the "for sale" forum here, or you can email me at cody@infinity-designlab.com for more info.

Here's some pics before I get started on the build-

Re: Carbon Fiber Prusa i3 build thread
May 13, 2014 03:07PM
If you were the same seller on ebay selling the carbon frame then I got my frame from you. Story sounds the same.