Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Leaning Zig Zag Prints

Posted by Omniaa 
Leaning Zig Zag Prints
July 20, 2016 08:04AM
hey everyone,
I am new to this 3D printing community, i have made my first PLA 3d printer. I cant find my problem on the internet and its really weird. When i try to print a rectangle (or any shape for that matter), layers are getting shifted at periodic intervals. it's forming wavy structure when it should be straight!! I am using Repetier Host and Repetier Firmware. I directly print from the SD card on the Full graphic smart controller (reprap discount). NO sticking issues. And i dont think it can be a belt slipping problem, this is clear i guess from the pictures i have attached, the print is leaning to say left side for some layers and then leaning right for some layers, and the whole pattern is being repeated throughout the object height. All the objects have the same wavy feature. there is no such wavy feature in the stl file. I have printed a hollow calibration cube of 20mm but it has shown same wavy patterns at same height. PLEASE HELP! Thanks

It was supposed to be rectangle of 25x15x30..:

A spiro coaster i printed, since height of object is less, wavy nature is not prominent other than edges

Re: Leaning Zig Zag Prints
July 20, 2016 06:27PM
Please don't post the same topic in multiple sections but do provide as much information as you practically can that might be relevant to your problem.

I assume from where you posted this that it's some kind of Mendel derivative. What kind? Is it from a kit? What is the primary structural material of the frame? What electronics are you using? What software are you using to slice? Have you watched the machine go to see if something is bending or getting snagged as the Z axis moves up? As bad as that is, something should be obvious.
July 20, 2016 06:38PM
umm ya sad smiley, i didnt understand at first where my problem is, so i posted it in printing issue as well hoping for solution.