Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Embedding objects?

Posted by anode505 
Embedding objects?
January 02, 2011 10:20AM
Just ordered a mendel and a boat load of 'ink' winking smiley

One of the first items I want to print needs a steel ring in it. This one should be easy, it would be on the bottom face.
Should I just draw it up with it the 'dimple' in place?

And for future ref, what about items in a more fully suspended position? (I'm thinking nuts and such)
Should I just make it 2 parts and stack them on top of each other? Is there a stop code? (the CNC lasers I fix for a living offer an M1 for this)

Thanks guys
Re: Embedding objects?
January 03, 2011 11:37PM
Especially if you need an air-tight fit, that would require some type of custom extruder tip. You need to extrude right next to the part. With current tips, at best you would always have a roughly 1mm gap due to the thickness at the nozzle tip. If the part you are embedding is tall, then you would have an even bigger gap due to the profile of the hot end.

My extudrer carriage has a couple of screws with the heads embedded in plastic, but I didn't print them this way. I printed the part with an undersized hole, then heated the screw with a 20w soldering iron till I could push it into the pocket. With your steel ring, maybe you can do something similar. Just lay out a sheet of foil or wax paper over a stove top and turn it on low. Once it gets close to your extrusion temperature, press the ring into an undersized groove. Don't use the stove top directly or you might get melted plastic on it. Pressing a heated ring into your printed part might deform it a bit, so if your printer can hold good enough tolerances, you would be better off to make the grove a press fit then just press the ring in by hand.
January 04, 2011 08:35AM