Posted by Chad C 
Re: Circles not coming out Circles
February 13, 2011 05:25PM
brnrd Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------

> I'm just a beginner compared to most people in
> this forum. I started building in December and I
> was able to produce working parts in less than a
> month that I have been using for my research.
> Thanks to the efforts of people like you in paving
> the way and sharing your experience online. My
> software settings are still far from optimal, but
> I haven't been having the problems that you have.
> The fact that others can do the same would seem to
> indicate that there is nothing wrong with the
> design and you have a specific hardware problem
> that needs to be fixed. smiling smiley

Or maybe beginners on 3D printing as you can't "see" this kind of problems. Maybe you don't have a way, another 3D printer to compare.

I can't forget the words of a very well know developer (Skeinforge):

"There's no point in comparing Mendel/skeinforge versus Up because Mendel is a piece of junk. Makerbot with the default DC motor extruder is also, unfortunately, not worth comparing.

You might want to compare the BFB3000/skeinforge versus Up for your own curiosity because the BFB3000 is constructed reasonably well. A Makerbot with a good stepper extruder may also be worth comparing for your own curiosity."

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 02/13/2011 05:34PM by casainho.

---
New cutting edge RepRap electronics, ARM 32 bits @ 100MHz runs RepRap @ 725mm/s:

[www.3dprinting-r2c2.com]
February 13, 2011 05:34PM
casainho Wrote:
>
> Or maybe beginners on 3D printing as you can't
> "see" this kind of problems. Maybe you don't have
> a way, another 3D printer to compare.

I've been using a collaborator's Dimension printer as well as having parts printed through Stratasys before I got the Mendel, so I'm not a beginner in 3D printing. Here's our publication on the research that we're now using the Mendel for: [rsi.aip.org].