Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Dimensions of Prusa Printed Parts

Posted by bdcannon 
Dimensions of Prusa Printed Parts
May 12, 2011 02:12AM
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to RepRap world but I was wondering if there is any information on the dimensions of the current Prusa printed parts. I downloaded the Prusa assembly from reprap.org but a lot of them don't open correctly on newer versions of SolidWorks. If anybody has any information I'd appreciate it.
Re: Dimensions of Prusa Printed Parts
May 12, 2011 07:34AM
Unfortunately, there are no dimensioned drawings. You can either import the .stl models into SolidWorks, or learn to read the OpenSCAD scripts. Learning some OenSCAD will be useful for interacting with the Prusa design long term, but for now I'd advise sticking with SolidWorks. There are some things even in the OpenSCAD files that you can't get numbers from.

Just a few months ago I imported the Prusa .stl files into SolidWorks 2011 (outdated now). What kind of trouble are you having? The only troubles I remember had to do with .stl being a faceted mesh instead of a BREP solid.
May 12, 2011 06:25PM
I'm actually not seeing the part at all when I open it up in Solidworks. Do I need an stl Importer?
May 12, 2011 07:27PM
download netfabb basic. Maybe you can fix the file there, or save in another format SW unserstands.
May 13, 2011 09:26AM