Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Prusa electronics

Posted by crumrw 
Prusa electronics
July 27, 2011 02:54PM
Ok, complete noob here. I've ordered everything I need for the Prusa Mendel SAE, including the XL gears to replace the T5's. Now I'm on electronics. The RAMPS seems impossible to find at this point so I'm looking for other options. While researching, I've come across so many parts and pieces that I really don't know what I need. Can someone point me in the right direction to acquire all the necessary hardware, firmware, and software for the electronics. Thank you in advance.

Rickey
Re: Prusa electronics
July 27, 2011 06:28PM
I have several RAMPS fully assembled. Check your Private Messages.
July 27, 2011 06:29PM
Normally, I'd have suggested ultimachine for RAMPS, but they've been out of stock for at least a couple of weeks. I'd think your best bet would be to ask in the #reprap IRC.

[edit] Or, buy one from jcraber :-) [/edit]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/27/2011 06:31PM by raldrich.
July 28, 2011 09:07AM
Thanks guys. Actually right before you private messaged me, I purchased the pre-assembled RAMPS board from eMAKERshop. I also purchased the Arduino Mega 2560 from Amazon.com, so now all I need are the stepper drivers and the end stop sensors. Does anybody know the best place for those final parts?
July 28, 2011 09:12AM
jcabrer,

I'll keep you in mind though, because if this one works I plan on building another one immediately.

Rickey
July 28, 2011 04:26PM
Just finished building SAE Prusa with Sanguinololu (Pololu drivers) electronics. I use Klimet software - pronterface and sprinter with skeinforge running on Win 7. It spins all the motors.
July 29, 2011 09:18AM
fteo88,

I'll keep that in mind if I have questions.

Does anyone know where I can source an affordable hot end? I know maker gear and ultimachine sell them for $80 something, but I have seen them go on here anywhere from $20 - $40.

Thanks,
Rickey
July 29, 2011 09:30AM