Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

bravach repstrap

Posted by bravach 
bravach repstrap
January 20, 2013 04:24AM
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to the 3D printing community but I started one month ago to develop my own repstrap inspired by the eventorbot and other printer from the wiki.
It is now complete in its 1.0 version and able to print at slow speed (30 mm/s).
I've some more ideas and material to upgrade it in a better, more rigid version (with precision linear axis) which would allow faster printing speed.

In the meantime, here are some pictures of the printer in its current form :

And also a test part made before (on the right) and after (on the left) tuning parameters in kisslicer :

Re: bravach repstrap
February 16, 2013 10:51AM
Nice work!

I was thinking of building an Eventorbot, but some emergency expenses blew the budget for it. I also have tons of dead printer parts and I think that after looking at what you did it is going to be the best route to follow. This way I won't deprive myself from a 3D printer and the only expense will be in the form of time and work (and learn more about them in the process). The unit built will always be useful and help make the parts for future units.

I see your frame uses some custom parts I assume you cut/machined yourself. Is it correct to think that those dimensions were taken from the size of rods you had available for your build? I can't tell from the angle of the pictures (perhaps a dumb question but I'm new at this)
February 20, 2013 03:00AM
I've done some improvements since I made this first version like reinforcing the Z carriage with 4 linear bearing instead of 2 (to reduce wobble and add rigidity ) and also I changed the shitty steel rod with some precision ground stainless steel rod.
I printed a new part for the extruder with a filament guide to keep the filament centered (and so, keep a steady feeding).