Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Concept for negative-Z 3d printer

Posted by Eagleon 
Concept for negative-Z 3d printer
March 18, 2010 12:38AM
Hey, first post. I hope I'm not in over my head here - I was extremely excited to learn about everything that's being done now in RP here, and will be looking at making my own Mendel in the near future! I have a lot of ideas, many of which are probably beyond my own skills. Forgive any ignorance! I'm a java programmer - I always thought experimenting with mechanical engineering and electronics would be a prohibitively expensive hobby, so I've never nurtured my interest in it until now.

Anyway, on to the meat of the subject. The idea is, instead of building an object up, push it down as you go. As far as I've gathered, there is an issue with sloping structures in printed objects (overhang). This concept might just avoid that problem altogether (sort of), and it also eliminates the need to move the tool-head along the z axis at all.

My idea is to use a play-doh bed as the drawing surface. Play-doh? Yes, that is correct, or something with similar properties, preferably something that can be balled up again and reused. Please keep reading, it's not as silly as it sounds (I hope grinning smiley). The idea is that, as the toolhead lays down layers of material, once a particular z-level is done, the object itself is pressed into the bed such that it is flush with the whole surface. This could be accomplished by a hinged, rigid sheet, or other means I'm sure - so long as it's blocked from pressing the object too far in (a reenforced guide-bar along the edges would stop it), you could even just drop a weight on the thing, as long as it's flat enough.