Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Oliver - an open source ultra precise MSLA 3D printer

Posted by Oliver3D 
Oliver - an open source ultra precise MSLA 3D printer
August 31, 2019 09:50AM
Hello everyone,
The market is being flooded by cheap SLA printers offering better resolution than FFF printers. There's one problem, however. They're not open source!

I'm a high school student from Czech Republic and I've decided to change that. I've spent last 18 months developing a custom MSLA 3D printer that's comparable to similarly priced commercial machines (the printer costs roguhly 720 USD).

It uses Sharp LS055R1SX03 2K screen, which can be currently found on almost all cheap MSLA machines. This grants precision of 47.25 microns in XY plane. Z axis resolution is 25 microns. I've developed custom board that is connected to Raspberry Pi 3 Model B and also custom 24W LED array with active cooling (2x 40 mm fans). These boards should be manufacturable by almost any PCB vendor, although I've included the exact requirments in the manual. The printer can be controlled by either built-in 3.5" touchscreen (with Tibus interface[1]), or via browser-based NanoDLP interface [2]. The platform have a full 3-dimensional calibration.

Some pictures:

Regarding manufacturing, you'll need access to the following:

- FFF 3D printer (for printing plastic parts)
- laser cutter (to cut the metal and acrylic parts)
- NO CNC MACHINE REQUIRED

I've written over 100 pages long user's manual with detailed procedures and assembly instructions. You can find it on the website (link below). Whole project is published under CC-BY-NC licence. My hope is that this printer will become a truly competitive open source alternative to the already established commercial machines (Anycubic Photon etc.).

The website: [www.oliver3d.com]

PS: I'm sorry for any grammar mistakes - English is not my native language.

[1] - [github.com]
[2] - [www.nanodlp.com]

Best,
Adam Schuppler