Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Converting the existing firmware to work for the powder printing process

Posted by ajit.jian1 
Converting the existing firmware to work for the powder printing process
February 13, 2015 07:11AM
Hi all,
I am Ajit, and I am new to this RepRap community. I have been closely working on 3D printing for the past one year or so. As a part of my project, I was thinking of converting the existing 3D printing firmware(Repetier) to work for the powder process by adding a few additional motors to to move the powder bed and the wiper blade.

My question is has anybody tried anything similar to this? and if yes can you please provide a link to the source files?

Or if somebody is very good with programming if they could help me understand the modifications I need to make? I am not an expert programmer but i can do a little basic-intermediate programming.

You help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks and regards
Ajit Sajjan Raj
Re: Converting the existing firmware to work for the powder printing process
August 03, 2015 10:34PM
Glad to see I'm not the only one!

I have finished the software (host and printer side) for my powderbed printer: BrundleFab

It uses a (very slightly) modified GCode, and is easily driven by Pronterface or other G-Code senders.

The software is in three parts:

• Software - Host-side software for converting from STL to GCode (with an intermediate SVG slicing step, like UV resin printers)
  • Firmware - GCode reader, UI, visualization system, and X, Z, and E axis control (stepper motors)
  • Printhead - Inkjet head ('pen') control, and Y axis control (DC motor + encoder, to allow re-purposing of existing 2D printer hardware)

The 'firmware' portion supports either an ATMega2560+RAMPS, or an ATMega2560+AdaFruit MotorShield v2, and 3 NEMA steppers.

For Visualization and UI I used an AdaFruit TFT, but the 'backend' of the UI should be re-implementable on any TFT (and is optional)