Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Quadrant style layered slices

Posted by Evilfz1 
Quadrant style layered slices
June 23, 2013 11:32PM
Hello, I am new to the fourm, but have been learning vigorously for the past few months about these machines for desktop use. I am now building my own. Mechanically you guys have shown that all this can be achieved, and what my printer will be lacking is adequate abilty to slice layers into quadrants.
my build area is goin to be some 2'x3'x4', and In some slicers I can input fields to accommodate that large of a build area, but then my layers are to big, and I need to break those layers into quadrants that will be projected individually per layer, to accommodate larger HD printed parts. im curious if anyone knows of any program that may be able to be developed for my circumstances. im not computer language literate but might have someone willing to organize some people who might be able to help soon...

this is what I think I know, it seems that once we slice our large parts into layers, they will then get sliced into quadrants according to our 2d projected dimensions (we'll say 10cm x 10 cm to make it easy but it would have a larger dimension for the width) so for this post sake, we'll say I need my large build area slices, sectioned into 12 rows of 8 columns at 10cm x 10cm (again, roughly) and once we have our images of all of those sectioned slices, we would then need to "single file" them according to our toolpath. our toolpath will negotiate the rows and columns accordingly, stopping and projecting 96 sections per layer (potentially, and roughly), then the same operation for the next layer only in reverse back to home, and then so on. so we would need the sectioned slices to be "in order" before we send it into powerpoint to be projected at the right time, once our axis moves into every next position. accommodating our necessary larger build envelope.