Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Anybody using S.Forge with MACH3 control software

Posted by uniquebot 
Anybody using S.Forge with MACH3 control software
August 17, 2010 03:59PM
Hi All,

Im new here and have a few issues with the printbot we have put together. I was wondering if anyone else uses the SF / MACH combo in their workflow ?

Cheers, Paul
emt
Re: Anybody using S.Forge with MACH3 control software
August 18, 2010 04:09AM
Hi

I have. But I switched to EMC as I could not get Mach to reliably operate my extruder via serial commands.

I understand Mach serial will be fixed in the new version that is due to come out shortly.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/18/2010 04:12AM by emt.

Regards

Ian
August 18, 2010 07:44AM
Thx Ian,

Im new to this field of expertise but on the whole I dont have many issues with MACH. Im just getting one or two problems with small delays hence why I was interested to speak with others using SF with Mach.

Ultimately, we plan to develop and hopefully sell a bolt on kit (Extruder, FW & Electronics USB.) for those people with MACH and a CNC wanting to play around printing objects smiling smiley

-Paul

Cheers,

Paul
emt
August 18, 2010 08:10AM
Hi

I remember now the other problems I had with Mach is the long delay every time an M function is issued. Caused great big blobs of extrusion. If this is your problem and you are using PP there is a special M code which was put in for lasers that does not have the delay. I could not use it as I had to run a SmoothStepper with Mach because the pulse train from Mach on the PP was pretty bad. The pulse train from EMC (Same PC using PP port) was several times better.

Regards

Ian
August 18, 2010 11:52AM
Ian,

Thanks again for your reply. Not having the issues you had I must say, in fact im surprised we have progressed so far so quick to be honest!!