Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[SOLVED] To what extent does skeinforge control the temperature?

Posted by unicoder 
[SOLVED] To what extent does skeinforge control the temperature?
July 06, 2011 12:53AM
I'm pretty new to skeinforge but I'm getting some pretty decent prints with it now. I just have a few questions left. I have a heated bed covered in kaptop tape and I've been getting really bad warping when printing large objects. I was a little surprised by this because I was under the impression that heated beds solve the warping problem. I took a random guess that maybe I didn't have the temperature high enough and changed it from 60 to 90 (printing PLA). The temp was about 83 when I started the print but by the time it failed due to warping I looked and saw that the temperature had dropped back down to 60!
So I'm wondering, to what extent does skeinforge control the temperature? I'm using Skeinforge 40 to generate gcodes and repsnapper to talk to the printer. I'm used to manually turning on the extruder and heated bed in repsnapper and telling it what temperature to use. If I don't turn on the extruder is there some command in the generated gcodes that will turn on the extruder and wait for it to heat up? Are there commands in there that are controlling my heated bed temp as well?
Thanks guys, there is a lot going on with this software I'm still wrapping my head around it.

EDIT: Marking this as solved because I feel like I now have a good understanding of how skeinforge handles temperature.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/17/2011 11:57AM by unicoder.
Re: To what extent does skeinforge control the temperature?
July 06, 2011 01:41AM
I use a start code see below

My start code is
G21; metric is good
G90; absolute positioning
G92 X0 Y0 Z0 E0; zero the extruded length axes

My end code is
G91
G1 F70
G1 E-10 F30000; sucks filament back quickly to stop ooze
G1 Z7 F70; lifts nozzle 7mm from finished print surface
G1 F2300