Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Feedback on my board build

Posted by ifrisbie 
Feedback on my board build
December 08, 2011 08:31PM
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new at this and was hoping to get some comments on the picks of my board. I was left a little confused about the 1.3a recommendations related to power and various unused connectors:

1. Latest info indicates that the R/A ATX4 is best choice in conjunction with the regulator? Does this mean also that the 3 individual 12V power taps near the motor connectors are not required?
2. For the stepper drivers, what do you all recommend? Should I go with the StepStick? I've seen them with and without heatsinks, are the sinks needed? Anybody selling empty PCB, thinking of trying my hand at reflow.
3. Anywhere in the U.S. make the StepStick (empty PCB or full)?

For some reason I couldn't post two images so I don't have the bottom of the board.
Attachments:
open | download - top.jpg (589.3 KB)
open | download - bottom.jpg (581.9 KB)
Re: Feedback on my board build
December 08, 2011 10:40PM
Your board looks great.

I used the screw terminal for power...I don't think the old supply I am using has an ATX4 connector. But, either is fine. I think the Mouser BOM has both, but only one can be installed...they occupy the same spot on the board. I don't know what the 12V connections near the motor connectors are for; I didn't use them.

Pololu A4988 is better than A4983 (which you probably can't find anymore, anyway). I haven't seen StepStick available in the US. I was fortunate to have a local source (Lulzbot/Aleph) that I got my A4988s from, assembled with pins, at a reasonable price.

I am told that heatsinks are not necessary with A4988s, but I have some memory chip heatsinks that I will glue on if I find they do get hot.
December 09, 2011 05:12AM
Stepsticks limit the current to 1A, so you can't get the driver hot enough to need heatsinks. Good if you have enough torque with 1A but bad if not!