Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Sanguinololu 1.3a – X, Y and Z motors won't move - "SOLVED"

Posted by Mastif_7 
Sanguinololu 1.3a – X, Y and Z motors won't move - "SOLVED"
May 12, 2012 05:43PM
Hi all

This is my first time Reprap build. Everything to date has gone really well, but I have hit a brick wall with the electronics.

The Setup:

- Reprap Prusa Mendel with frame constructed and motors mounted.
- Sanguinololu 1.3a kit with the FTDI chip pre-soldered and an ATMEGA 644P microprocessor loaded with the bootloader and the latest version of Sprinter firmware.
- A4988 Pololus drivers with current limits set to 0.47v to suit the motors.
- Brand new 400W ATX PSU - bought after suspecting the supply I was initially using was faulty.
- Pronterface installed on Windows 7 with Python and dependencies installed.

The Problem:

After connecting the motors, endstops, power supply and laptop the X,Y and Z motors will not move. After running some tests on the board this is what I have found:

- The extruder motor works with no problems
- Endstops measure 5 volts
- Hotend and hotbed pins read 12 volts
- Thermistor pins measure 5 volts

With the help of the kit supplier and his colleagues I have done some tests on the Pololu boards and found the following:

- VMOT is a constant 12 volts
- VDD (motors disabled) is 5v for the extruder motor but only 0.36v for X, Y and Z
- VDD (motors enabled) is 5v for the extruder motor but only 0.18v for X, Y and Z
- EN (motors disabled) is 5v for the extruder, X, Y and Z motors
- EN (motors enabled) is 0v for the extruder, X and Y motors but 5v for and Z

The X, Y and Z motors give no resistance when enabled and turned by hand.