Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Verifying bootloader and/or firmware on Sanguinololou with ATMega1284P

Posted by cpnbnanamn 
Verifying bootloader and/or firmware on Sanguinololou with ATMega1284P
January 31, 2016 10:52AM
All,
I'm a newb to this, and have been messing with a buddy's GeeeTech 3D printer. It has a Sanguinololou board on it, and I wanted to load the Marlin FW. However, having already bricked one 1284, I want to make sure I do this right. Is there a way for me to verify what's already loaded?
Re: Verifying bootloader and/or firmware on Sanguinololou with ATMega1284P
January 31, 2016 10:44PM
As long as you just the bootloader via serial over usb you cannot brick it.

If you start playing with avrisp's then you can brick it, but even then you would really have to try!

So basically just use the boot loader
February 01, 2016 09:21AM
Everything I've read talks about removing the ATMega chip and wiring it to a breadboard, then loading the bootloader. I'm guessing that means I can't load it while it's on the Sanguinlolou board. Please forgive the dumb questions.. like I said.. i'm new to this.
February 01, 2016 04:35PM
You can install a boot-loader fine while its on the SL board, Ive done this more times than I care to count... Just wire in the isp header pins and use those with a avrisp. (these pins are often missing on cheap boards)

Main issue is the "fuses" make sure you get those correct. (SL has a resonator vs a crystal, requires different fuse settings)
You borads.txt contains what fuse setting the arduino ide will set. (Fuses are set when you upload a boot loader from within the arduinio ide) A generic 644p or 1284p chip profile will presume a Crystal.

Second potential issue is that some of the really cheap avrisps do not support chips with large firmwares, ie they do not support 644p or 1284p

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/01/2016 04:36PM by Dust.
February 04, 2016 09:03AM