Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Creating a cheap all in one controller!

Posted by Henry89 
Creating a cheap all in one controller!
May 19, 2013 01:58PM
I'm new to all this and have just ordered an eshapeoko CNC kit which, Along with learning about CNC stuff, i plan to use to help me on my next project, a 3 d printer. I've been looking around and there seem to be a lot of 3d printer shields for the arduino Mega and a few CNC breakouts too. Why not create a driver/ sensor shield that could act as either a CNC controller running GRBL or a 3d printer running marlin or the like? it would take is 2 arduinos, each with the relevant firmware bought seprately. Build the driver board so that you can switch between control from either arduino board and switch the outputs to the end stops and motors etc. between each machine!. I plan on doing this essentially. I have a CNC breakout board for MACH3 cnc control software and 3 drivers. I want to add an extra driver and an arduino with marlin on it and create a simple interface board that will allow me to switch control between my cnc machine and the 3d printer I plan on building.
Re: Creating a cheap all in one controller!
May 20, 2013 06:38AM
You can use a RepRap firmware to control a milling CNC, too. Just ignore the extruder part and handle a spindle like a fan.

That said, RAMPS and its almost-clones are about the only RepRap electronics designed as a shield. Many, many "all-in-one" ones exist.

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

June 12, 2013 04:59PM
So what control board should I buy myself to be able to run 3 stepper motors + 1 stepper motor-based extruder and heatbed OR run this machine as a mill, with a spindle.

I don't want to program, solder, build anything myself. I want a finished product to use with my Shapeoko - based device.
Stepper motors have no termenals.
June 14, 2013 06:17AM
June 14, 2013 11:46AM