Cheap stepping motor controller for novice project
November 17, 2011 04:02PM
Hi guys.

I'm a complete novice at electronics, but pretty savvy with computers. My dad is the total opposite, and it would be great to do a little stepping motor device with him, where I can learn something about the motors and he can do some coding.

What we want is simply a board to connect to a PC, power supply and pair of stepping motors and to be able to issue commands to it (via a linux terminal or windows console?).

The EiBotBoard seems like it would do the trick, but it's a little steep! Is there something you can think of alternatively? The issue I have is some say "Stepping motor controller" and some throw in the word "driver" there too, so I don't know which boards contain everything I need, and which don't! For example, would this do the job?

Finally, these things say they use 9-24V supplies (for example). Does this mean so long is the plug fits, the voltage will be appropriately regulated down?
Re: Cheap stepping motor controller for novice project
November 18, 2011 04:57AM
If you're fine with using an arduino as your motor 'brain', maybe try this : [arduino.cc]
November 18, 2011 05:51AM

What we want is simply a board to connect to a PC, power supply and pair of stepping motors and to be able to issue commands to it (via a linux terminal or windows console?).

That's exactly what all the RepRap electronics do. Most RepRap firmwares (FiveD, Teacup, Sprinter, Marlin, SJFW,...) talk G-code, easily commandable from a terminal.

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

November 18, 2011 09:14AM
Start with an arduino, you'll be glad you did.
November 18, 2011 01:32PM
I did a couple of projects with a Parallax Propeller board too

[www.backyard-workshop.com]

[www.backyard-workshop.com]
November 20, 2011 11:41AM
That looks good and in the right price range!