Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder and axis motor interchangability

Posted by letthewookiewin7 
Extruder and axis motor interchangability
November 16, 2015 01:41PM
Hey everyone,

I have been reading questions and gathering info from this site for a few months, and want to thank all of you for the incredible amount of help you have given me without ever having to ask a question.

However, I find myself in a little pickle that I can't figure out.

I have an i3Pro kit made by Makerfront. I have been printing with it for a few months, and everything was going rather smoothly. Yesterday I noticed that the extruder motor was a tad loose, so I tried to tighten the mounting screw down just a bit. I wound up over tightening it and stripping that hole out. Since there are only two mounting screws that hold the motor to the x carriage, I thought I would swap out the extruder motor for the x axis motor, since that one utilizes a different mounting scheme.

After I got it all back together, I find that both swapped motors do not move any more; they just vibrate loudly, like they are locked up. If I switch the connectors on the motors, the behave normally again (i.e., if I send an extrude command through pronterface, the x motor moves). So that validates that I didn't fry something when I was messing around with it.

I recall when I built the printer that the extruder and x,y,z, axis connectors going to the drivers were in a different order. The x,y, and z motors are pinned out as green, black, blue, red on the driver side and green blue black red on the motor side. The extruder is black, green, blue, red, and is the same on both ends.

The x axis motor and extruder motor that I swapped are the same model #: KS42STH40-1204A. They have another set of numbers on them that are different, but I'm guessing those are the batch number/serial numbers. Maybe it is relevant....