Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

question: Variable/dynamic Microstepping?

Posted by Buback 
question: Variable/dynamic Microstepping?
October 12, 2010 01:04PM
If a driver does 1/8 microstepping, does that mean is is fixed at 1/8, or can it be changed dynamically in software?

It seems it would make sense to do full steps when traveling in one axis, or when traveling large distances. I'm assuming that it would be harder to miss steps if they are larger steps. If this is the case, then it would be better to use a smaller step as you approach a turn or edge.

I have little knowledge about electronics, but am trying to learn!
Re: question: Variable/dynamic Microstepping?
October 12, 2010 03:52PM
The non-experimental hardware has the driver boards hardwired to a fixed stepping setting.

On Mendel, I think some people are single stepping on the z-axis, (where a full step is such a small amount due to the screw thread), and half or quarter stepping on y and x-axis, at least with the Pololu A4983 stepper controllers.

I think the trade off is:

Full steps: Faster, nosier, less resolution

Half or Quarter steps: slower, quieter, finer resolution.

In the experimental hardware that's at least being discussed, I remember the question being raised about "would you lose accurate position data if you were on a 11/64ths step and then you suddenly switched to full stepping to do a fast transverse?"

Of course, if you switched to full stepping to go back to "home" and zero your position data, not knowing exactly where you were would not be an issue.

Disclaimer: I'm not extruding yet. Someone else who is, please chime in on this thread.

--
My blog's Reprap feed: [blog.markbova.com]
I'm currently working on a stock Mendel build with a Seeeduino Mega and four Pololu A4983 stepper controllers.
October 12, 2010 05:22PM