Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

"Newbie" Can someone point me in the right direction?

Posted by Dakwally 
"Newbie" Can someone point me in the right direction?
August 07, 2016 08:37AM
I have barely worked with stepper motors at all. I did some basic programming in an EE class I took. If you guys could help me out and point me in the right direction I would much appreciate it.

Basically here is what I want to do. I need to be able to program a motor to switch between locations 12 o'clock 3 o'clock 6 o'clock and 9 o'clock. And preferably quickly.
I am a videographer and the idea is the put a camera on top of the motor so that it can switch to the different location and film the subject at different sides of a square table.
Originally I had bought this motor [www.amazon.com]
and an arduino uno.

I was then told I need to also get a motor driver to connect them both...

My questions are such.

How do I know if the motor I bought is fast enough or has enough torque to hold and move a camera (relatively light weight). And if it is not a good motor where do I find a better one?

Does it matter what moto driver I purchase? There seem to be a large amount of choices... And am kind of overwhelmed by it.

I'm only familiar with the arduino so I'd like to use it, but is there something better I should be using as the controller.

Thanks fot the help guys!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/07/2016 08:38AM by Dakwally.
Re: "Newbie" Can someone point me in the right direction?
August 07, 2016 02:17PM
Check out
MECHADUINO- CLOSED LOOP STEPPER SERVOS FOR EVERYONE

[hackaday.com]