Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[WIP] V-slot 3d printer/CNC machine

Posted by Jacoby6000 
[WIP] V-slot 3d printer/CNC machine
October 20, 2013 03:33AM
This is currently in the planning stage, while I build a repstrap for myself.

Here's a screenshot of what I have so far

And here is the sketchup file (hosted on mediafire)

frame-with-gantry

So far, I've designed an independent X/Y gantry, so they aren't adding extra stress to eachother. I don't like the idea of a moving bed, because that's where the print/material goes, and I can see some problems with that.
The X/Y gantry will probably not use wheels at the hub like it is now, but rather something that slides around in the slot. Those wheels are too bulky, and I'm hoping to replace them with something else.
I plan on making the bed move along the Z-axis, rather than attaching a big Z-axis assembly to the gantry.

I'm very new to this, so I'm open to any and all suggestions. I plan on building this, and if It's good enough and not too expensive, I'll stick it on the wiki. I plan on keeping all updates in this thread, until then.

If this is an awful idea, let me know now, so I don't get too far into it winking smiley

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/20/2013 03:45AM by Jacoby6000.
Re: [WIP] V-slot 3d printer/CNC machine
October 20, 2013 11:50AM
How are the axes driven, belt, leadscrew?
How are belts led thru system?

Where are motors mounted?

With trolley in center the XY axes may be over constrained
and require large torque to move or forever binding

How is extruder mounted?

See Gigabot for design ideas
[www.re3d.org]
October 20, 2013 12:47PM
This is a very early draft, but my plan is to have 6 motors total. 2 for x, 2 for y, 1 for Z, and finally one for the extruder.