Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepStrippa, my plans on a multifunction 3D printer smiling smiley Comments are welcome, let me know your thoughts

Posted by Gordie 
Hello everyone, after two weeks of no answers I'm here to discuss with you and to present my multifunction 3D printer. I've started this topic in CNC section but no body spoke...
First of all thanks in advance for reading this and commenting; I'm an italian guy with the DIY "mindview" and with the artisan lifestyle, I like to recycle but, most important, to change people mind on recycling everything they can.
In this way I started some years ago an artist/music project with handmade musical instruments ripped off from wasted electronics stuff. I also love hardware and toys hacking (aka circuit bending).
While building up mine own instruments I find some difficulties on having some parts with the shape I wanted. Also, I'm a student and I cannot afford the costs of third parts productions. So one day I decided to build a CNC router, then I discoverred the 3D printing world and now I'm here with my ideas. smiling smiley

RepStrippa features:
  1. 3D printing
  2. 3D scanning
  3. Dremel engraving/milling
  4. Laser engraving
  5. Paper/vinyl cutting
a) This is a classic Cartesian printer. Printing area of 300x300mm, it will have an hot chamber enclosure with exaust air exit for ABS fumes, the carrier will be in a shape that it can mount every kind of extruder; also multi extruding is in my thoughts, like an X (crossed) mount with 4 hotends at the four ends (printing area 140x140).
b) With a servo motor there will be a rolling plate, for objects to be scanned. With simple internal walls as background and a photocamera, some leds to light up and a classic laser pointer.