FLSUN I3 kit review
August 07, 2016 01:15PM
Hi. Longtime lurker, first time poster.

I have a couple of friends with acrylic kits (they got me hooked smiling smiley ) and eventually went looking for a kit. I'm an engineer by training, and have been aware of the strengths and weaknesses (literally and metaphorically) of the various styles of machine frames. I had actually 3-D'd a design with 1"x1" extrusion because I wanted the rigidity of a metal frame.

Then I saw the FLSUN kit. 20mm x 20mm frame, all parts included, for $219, free shipping. Busted. Sent in the order and in 5 days the kit showed up at my door.

I've dealt with electronic prototyping of all kinds, up to refrigerator-size and bigger things that became entire computer systems, since the early 70s, so I think I'm qualified to critique a kit.

This one is good. It's 20mm x 20mm T-slot extrusion, glossy black paint, with fittings and hardware where appropriate.All parts and pieces were included. Moreover, they **fit** together, which has not always been true for kits I've seen in the past. The parts other than the frame were either 3D printed fittings or laser-cut ~8mm acrylic pieces. The instruction manual, along with STL files for the printed pieces and parts lists came on an SD card in the box. The instruction/assembly manual was 148 pages of pictures with arrows and text for what to use and how to fit it. Total assembly time was maybe three hours, and I stretched it out because I actually savor that kind of thing. I'm taking my time getting wire routing down to how I like it and making sure that things don't get pinched in the motion, etc.

There were only the most trivial of errors in the manual. The big one was where a 350mm length was specified as "350cm". Not hard to figure that one out! smiling smiley The hardware screws and such were carefully put into small ziploc bags with the size of the screw (M2.5, M3, M4, etc.) marked on the bag. This is GOOD practice for a kit.