Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

This is a tank

Posted by cwaa 
This is a tank
August 21, 2016 03:28PM
When I decided to build my own printer, one thing I wanted was to avoid the polished rods and sliding bushings most printers are made with. They flex and can pass vibrations to the print head. This design uses two ball bearings on each rubber tired wheel. I can stand on the frame and it can be used for light CNC work.
This frame is available through a company called "Open Builds". My frame is based on several models from Open Builds. The controller, extruder, heated bed and hot end were selections I made after deciding on the frame and linear movement methods. As to how fast it will print, I am still learning. There is quite a lot of inertia in the X and Y axis. But the movements are rock solid. I am using an aluminum printing surface, over an aluminum heating plate. They are insulated from the aluminum build plate and carriage. I use a proximity sensor to level the bed automatically.
I think a lot of Open Builds............Take a look.

[www.openbuilds.com]

This machine has a double carriage and two screws on the Z axis. I explored a single stepper with a belt for the Z axis and found the double motor and screw a very inexpensive alternative to a belt.

Oh, something else about that frame. The carriage plates can be purchased or made, but the purchased plates come pre-drilled to accept the rubber tired wheels, and one side has an eccentric to tighten the wheels into the slot. Very clever design .

Re: This is a tank
August 22, 2016 11:02AM
Ahh nice, the Voxel Ox by Marshall Peck. I've made one of these as well but over the past year it has taken on many modifications!

-- Highly modified X axis and gantry to be lighter, and more space efficient in both X and Z planes. I've knocked at least 400/500 grams off the extruder carriage.