Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Tutorials for first printing?

Posted by pencilpusher 
Tutorials for first printing?
May 30, 2015 03:49PM
Hi.

I'm new to 3D printing. I ordered a prusa i3 from folgertech and they sent me a Kossel 2020. So I went with that, I'm at the point where it's built and calibrated as described in their manual, but the manual ends with: "now your ready to print!"

Just one problem I don't know how to print? Does anyone here know of a resource that explains in depth how to load a file and send it to print for the first time?
Re: Tutorials for first printing?
May 31, 2015 06:41AM
RepRap wiki -> Beginner's guide
June 01, 2015 05:09PM
Did the instructions include downloading any software? Repetier-Host, Ponterface, Skienforge, Cura?

Assuming you installed something like Repetier-Host for calibrating your printer, you can start by going to a website like thingiverse to download an *.stl file. You might try searching for some calibration prints or the ever popular 10mm cube. Personally, I just download files to my Windows Downloads directory by default and then pointed Repetier-Host at the directory so that when I click the Load button in the software, it defaults to the downloads directory and lists all of the "printable" files I have downloaded. Selecting a file should load it into your main printing window, centered on your virtual print plate.

Next you need to slice the file(s) placed onto your build plate, converting the *.stl(s) into lines of gcode that your printer will understand. I believe the default for Repetier-Host is Slic3r, but you could also default to Cura if you choose to. Different slicers will handle an object better than others. Hopefully the instructions also included how to configure their recommended slicer.