Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New build problems

Posted by DanJenG60 
New build problems
May 15, 2016 09:51PM
I recently purchased and assembled my first printer. It's a micro make delta. I have it fully assembled and have used the machine debug setting with the cura software that came with the printer. I can home the machine, heat the extruder and the bed, auto level, and get the extruder to feed the pla through the extruder. My problem is when I try to print with the cura program it doesn't work right. It's not feeding the filament and sometimes shakes or studders instead of making smooth movements. When using repetier I can not get the extruder to heat nor move when using the manual controls. It will start to print without heating and seems to be doing what it should be, but the extruder isint working either. I'm assuming this is an issue with the firmware? I'm new to this and have been trying to read up on a possible solution but not having any luck. Any help is appreciated
Re: New build problems
May 15, 2016 10:29PM
Hi
I got a Micromake too had it for 2 weeks.
I was able to get everything to work using Cura.
But still need a few adjustments for the hot end ABS temperature not quite able to reach desired temp to enable the start of the print.
Works ok with PLA.
As far as the extruder does the stepper motor turn?
I have not ventured using Repetier yet since I am new to this and Cura has the micromake debugger and bed leveling routine plus the firmware configurator
At Thingverse there is a Micromake group join I have been trying to get info about things there.
Maybe if you post message there they can help.

Frank
May 15, 2016 11:11PM
I'm not familiar with the MicroMake, but from general principals...

When you say you can "feed the pla through the extruder", are you saying that you're getting molten PLA coming out of the nozzle? Are you doing this via software, or by pushing the filament by hand?