Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Struggling to identify problem.

Posted by feistylemur 
Struggling to identify problem.
September 29, 2016 12:14PM
So I'm new to 3d printers. In a pretty poor choice, I decided to buy a cheap Chinese (afinibot) delta kit as my first printer. It's more like a rostock design I believe with the 8mm rods and bearings, and acrylic plates for the frame instead of wood.

Anyway the quality of the printed parts is abysmal, I had to get replacements for most of them, and had a friend print a new effector because both that came with their kit have 4mm holes for the rods to screw into on 3mm bolts, along with being warped like all of their parts which suffer from the edges lifting off the bed when they were printed.

So all that said and done, I've put a ton of time into trying to get it dimensionally accurate, watched a lot of guides, but I'm stuck and not sure if it's just too many bad parts adding up to a mess or something I'm missing.

I've checked that the towers are on the right angles, the distance between the towers is the same at the top and bottom, the bed is squared to the towers. Because they printed the holes wrong for the endstop screws also, only 2 out of 3 actually bite enough to use, so I've just screwed them all the way in and tried to rely on software offsets rather than mechanical alignment with the screws. The bed is also not perfectly flat, and made of cheap aluminum, but it's not super far out, It dips maybe 0.1mm here and there, I do have a glass plate coming to replace it. I measured the arms, I don't have a big enough caliper yet to get a great measurement so I had to use a ruler, I do have a 300mm caliper coming for better measurements, but It appears 4 of the arms are equal and the remaining 2 might be 0.5 mm longer than the rest.