Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Kossel custom build problems with Z axis

Posted by Hozza 
Kossel custom build problems with Z axis
February 07, 2018 04:45AM
So I'm not new to 3D printing or custom building, but I am new to the world of deltas. About 18 months ago I started purchasing parts to build a Kossel and finally got it printing just after Christmas, however I'm less than happy with its performance especially with money I've spent on it.

The frame is built using Robotdigg corners and extrusions, I also got the rails and carriages from Robotdigg.
The electronics are running at 24v on a Duet 0.6 with the smart effector using rod from Haydn.
Stepper motors a 0.9° JK42HM40-1684
E3D Titan extruder in a bowden setup, I am planning on a Nimble extruder but I don't want to purchase that until I've all the issues ironed out.

So now the main issue:

The only way I can describe it is Z wobble, which I believe is the incorrect term on a delta, the print quality is improving while setting up the profile but something has to be wrong. The image attached is of 18mm x 18mm x 100mm and as you can see isn't straight.

I've run out of things to try so I'm hoping I can be pointed in the right direction.

Thanks
Paul
Attachments:
open | download - 20180207_093305.jpg (515.9 KB)
Re: Kossel custom build problems with Z axis
February 07, 2018 05:43AM
Maybe a pulley is not centered on its shaft.
February 07, 2018 09:40AM
Just checked them can't see anything wrong them.
February 07, 2018 10:15AM
It might be over extrusion. Some of the excess filament is pushed out at the side. Try 0.9 extrusion multiplier and are you printing with fan?
February 07, 2018 03:43PM
I had this issue, and it was one of the magball that was not properly fastened (the effector was loose). you need to check every bolt... And what is the length of your bowden tube ? may be it's too long ?
February 07, 2018 11:57PM
Vigilant