Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Advice for new large Kossel

Posted by timncfc 
Advice for new large Kossel
November 26, 2019 11:19PM
Hi,
Over-enthusiastic beginner here looking for tips on a large Kossel build. I'd been thinking about doing this design for a while and got myself commited a few days ago by ordering various bits. I liked the idea of keeping the build platform within the framework amongst other things, but after discovering dc42's blog/build and other posts here have been having second thoughts.
In particular, I'm worried about the build platform as the plate seems to just sit on cork stuck to 3 printed brackets, which seems to go against other information I've read about ensuring the bed is absolutely flat (and generally securely attached to framework). Also wondering about the way there is nothing at all between the bulk of area of the heater and electronics beneath. And specs for buidplate too, never realised that flat aluminium sheet isn't necessarily flat enough. So, lots to digest and understand before I move on.
Figure my build will be a mish-mash of these. I've not ordered build/base plates or any extrusions yet, so dimensionally I'm only constained by having ordered 400mm Hayden mag rods and 800mm rails from Robodigg. V6 ecosystem on the way plus Duet Smart Effector and board(s). Undecided on extruder yet. I'd definitely like to print somethings near to 500mm high but doubt I'll want to print even near the edge of a 330mm bed very often, if at all. Was thinking of ease of future enclosure purely as I'm mucking about with all sorts of materials ATM just to get to know various pros and cons first hand, so trying to cover options; not PEEK type cover but maybe nylon or polycarbonate.
Any advice on the next step forward gratefully recieved.
Thanks, Tim.
Re: Advice for new large Kossel
November 27, 2019 03:06AM