Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cherry Pi III Is Available

Posted by AndyCart 
Re: Cherry Pi III Is Available
March 31, 2015 07:02AM
Two comments on the above:

1. Checking hot end temperatures.

Many general purpose multimeters include a thermocouple probe for measuring temperatures. You can remove the filament and feed the thermocouple probe into the top of the hot end, right down inside the nozzle, to get an accurate temperature reading.

2. 2-colour printing.

Andy, thanks for your comments on the Cyclops. I didn't realise that you couldn't feed it with just one filament without it blocking up. I am considering a Chimera for my enlarged Kossel. I have some experience with 2-nozzle printing on my Ormerod, see [miscsolutions.wordpress.com]. I have no problem with the unused nozzle oozing or dripping, it doesn't. I set the standby temperature of the unused nozzle to 150C for PLA and use 10mm retraction (the default in slic3r, which I haven't tried changing because it works). My tool change macro files are set up to wait for the new nozzle to reach printing temperature, but not to wait for the old one to reach standby temperature (which takes longer). However, the non-printing nozzle does create slight marks when it crosses a piece of the print that has just been printed by the printing nozzle. The closer the nozzles are, the more this is a problem, because the less time newly-laid-down filament has to cool before the non-printing nozzle crosses it. Because of this, I redesigned my dual nozzle conversion on the Ormerod to increase the spacing as much as I could (to 22mm) without a total redesign of the hot end assembly. So I am concerned that the small nozzle spacing of the Chimera will make this problem a lot worse.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
March 31, 2015 07:27AM