Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cherry Pi III Is Available

Posted by AndyCart 
Re: Cherry Pi III Is Available
November 09, 2015 02:53PM
It helped!
Thank you very much!

Does this makes the firmware do harder work calculating the motion?
I know there are some defines for sin and cos angles, do I need to add more?

I'm using MEGA2560 and sometimes I can see that I push it to its limits already when there are too many segments.
November 25, 2015 03:01PM
Hi Andy and others,

So I have tried my best to build my cherry pie as accurately as possible and I guess now it's time to power up the electronics and calibrate etc. Now I have a couple of questions. I'm new to delta printers but from what I've read in the thread is when I use the LJ12A3-4-Z/BY sensor together with Rich Cattels' Marlin from the test branch on github, I'm ready to start the calibration process? Or do I have to set things manually first? I've not yet installed the hotend. Is that a problem?

Thanks much in advance,

Niles
November 26, 2015 01:24AM
Hi Niles

It sounds like you are pretty much good to go. Your machine should calibrate quite happily without the hotend but when you fit one post calibration you will have to adjust Z height manually to suit. Make sure all 4 limit switches, X, Y, Z and Z min (your prox sensor) are operating correctly before you issue the G30 A command.

Good luck.

Andy
November 26, 2015 06:51AM
Thanks very much Andy,

I do have to add that I use different nylon/delrin wheels than the mini v's from Openbuilds. This means that my rod carriages sit a little bit closer to the profile towers. I'm also using a different construction for the rods since I couldn't find drilled 8 mm ball joints. I figured that the latest cherry pi's rod length including the balls is around 241 mm? (225 mm tubes + 2 x 8 mm balls). Does the firmware calibration account for possible slight deviations from the original Cherry Pi IIIS?

Niles