Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Folger Tech Kossel Delta 2020 Full 3D Printer Kit w/Auto-Level

Posted by Kasahabo 
Re: Folger Tech Kossel Delta 2020 Full 3D Printer Kit w/Auto-Level
May 20, 2015 10:10AM
mmcginnis9272
cislom
I am a newb - but have been holding my own using this forum as reference, but I have an odd one...

Got my Foldertech 2020 2 weeks back and have loved it - been printing in PLA for a while and I figured it was time to do some upgrades, so I wanted to print out a new effector and mount some new rod lengths - anyways long story short I got some ABS to print.

So I started out with a temp of 220 and 75 for the bed. The printer took some time to get there, but it did and it started printing about 3 layers and stopped (I wasn't watching that close after the 1st layer). The printer had "Locked up" I have a small computer hooked up to it with Repetier running and it had lost connection apparently. Odd - I have printed about 20 part of PLA and no issues - so I reboot everything and try again. Does the same thing - this time I was watching it. Looks like the extruder drops to about 215 and then basically locks up and stops the printer - the heat is still on for the bed and the extruder after that - but no communication - I have to power it all off.

I am thinking it is heat related? Any ideas? How can I tell?

Thanks in advance -

Try to print a PLA object again. Does it print?
Does the ABS job stop at the same spot each time? Could be a corrupt slicing job.
If it is heat related, it could be that running the bed so hot (and if you following the Folgertech instructions to put the electronics under the heat bed) is causing the electronics to overheat. Try blowing a fan under the printer to cool it while your printing to see what that does.

Chapter 2....