Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Folger Tech Kossel Delta 2020 Full 3D Printer Kit w/Auto-Level

Posted by Kasahabo 
Re: Folger Tech Kossel Delta 2020 Full 3D Printer Kit w/Auto-Level
August 31, 2016 07:28AM
av8r1
This isn't a particularly good place to put this, but I'll put it here anyway: the firmware makes me nervous.

Not that I think Marlin is out to get me or anything, it's just that I find it a little incomprehensible. What gets me is I'll download the firmware from Github and it will NEVER compile without throwing some cryptic error. No two versions are exactly alike, and if something goes wrong, Google isn't forthcoming. Same thing with my Prusa. I'm using Folger's stock firmware because I'm not very good at finding anything else that will actually compile. I don't know how to do things like enable the EEPROM. My PID is hilariously bad, and i'm not exactly sure how to fix it.

It doesn't help at all when you read things like "uncomment the line //#define FOOBAR 17" and that line isn't anywhere in the code.

This won't help you unless you upgrade your electronics - but having to compile firmware to customise it to your machine really belongs in the past, when the only people who built 3D printers were techies. Firmwares for modern electronics such as Duet and Smoothieboard don't need to be compiled to customize them for your machine. You flash the electronics with a standard binary, and make the customisations by editing a configuration file on the SD card. For the Duet you can now generate the config file using a web application, and you can upload it to your SD card over the printer's web interface.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
August 31, 2016 07:52AM