Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mini Kossel first test problems

Posted by daveflave 
Mini Kossel first test problems
January 05, 2015 08:27AM
Hi Guys

I am having problems with my Mini Kossel and not sure what the problem is or how to solve it. I'm completely new to 3D printing so be kind

Please see my other thread here

Regards
Dave
Re: Mini Kossel first test problems
January 05, 2015 06:14PM
I just watched the video, that helped.
It looks like your feed rates are too high when homing. I'd suggest lowering the homing feedrate, and lowering the acceleration.

Hope that helps.

My printer: Raptosaur - Large Format Delta - [www.paulwanamaker.wordpress.com]
Can you answer questions about Calibration, Printing issues, Mechanics? Write it up and improve the Wiki!
January 06, 2015 03:50AM
I'm not sure how to do that but I'll try and figure it out

Thanks
January 06, 2015 04:45AM
It looks to me that your motors are moving correctly at low speeds but not at high speeds. To test this theory, repeat the first test you did, but try higher values of the F parameter. Find the highest value that gives correct movement. My Mini Kossel can go up to at least 15000.

To get higher feedrates working, check the current settings on the stepper drivers, and try reducing the acceleration setting as already suggested.

If you still can't get good speeds, this could mean that you are using low current/high inductance stepper motors and they are not getting enough voltage. What stepper motors, controller electronics and power supply are you using?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/06/2015 04:48AM by dc42.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
January 06, 2015 04:46PM
I've made a little progress tonight. I've changed some acceleration values from 200x60 to 50x60 and now it will home. Its probably too slow though.