Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I am building a RichRap 3DR

Posted by zitman 
I am building a RichRap 3DR
January 05, 2015 08:48AM
Hi all,

I am new to 3D printing having had a Prusa I3 back in October.

As with my other main hobby, old motorcycles, one never seems to be enough ao I have started building a RichRap 3DR. I have printed 3 sets of - motor mounts, electronics mounts and top covers together with the rod end adapters, extruder and the top and bottom triangular parts.

I was wondering what issues anyone else had come up against. Also I am looking for a source for the rod ends, can anyone suggest a source?

Cheers

Z
Re: I am building a RichRap 3DR
January 06, 2015 12:13PM
Hi,

I built my 3DR a few months back.

Here is the BOM I assembled:

[docs.google.com]

I've just noticed that the adapters that I glued onto the carbon rods is missing from the list. I got them from here:

[www.cambrianplanes.co.uk]

In all honesty, the carbon arms I made, although they look nice, are not really suitable. There is too much flex. This is not RichRap's fault, it was my own design. I think this is one reason that the FSR auto-level doesn't work perfectly for me, as flex in the arms leads to inconsistent measurements. I'm toying with replacing the rods with magnetic joints or the spring-tensioned ball-and-sockets but that would require reprinting the carriages and micro-platform. The alternative is to simply follow Rich's instructions!

Another problem I hit was that I used the cheapest LM6UU bearings I could find. In retrospect, this was a mistake. Some of them are ok but others are _very_ noisy. If you go this route then buy more than you need and try them out to find the quietest ones with the tightest tolerances. This wouldn't be a big problem for me except the smooth rods are a very tight fit in my printed parts. Removing them to replace the bearings is going to be a pain.