Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Problem with slow feed moves stuffering on my 3DR Delta

Posted by gitsly 
Problem with slow feed moves stuffering on my 3DR Delta
January 18, 2015 08:26AM
Hi, this is my very first post here on this forum.
I'm completely new to the 3D printing hobby, this is my first build and I'm
just getting started to learn the configuration basics of the printer firmware (Repetier).
However I'm a good programmer, I've build some CNC machines and I'm confident with
electronics etc. Now I think I definitely need some expert advice.

I've recently got my 3DR Delta printer up and running (motion parts, no extruder
yet etc), and started to try out the configuration and some travel / feed moves
by sending gcode in manual mode (from repetier host).
The printer uses GT2 belts and pulleys instead of the fishing line otherwise is
pretty much a straight up build from RichRap instructions.
The printed parts are in ABS, printed with a Zortrax M200 (at work).

The printer moves ok (smoothly) when doing travelling moves at high speed
(F7000+), but for slower moves (F100-1000) i noticed that the moves are VERY stuttering.
This is for a simple single command, so there's no Slicer involved or anything. If I send:
G1 F100 X60
The carriage litterally shakes it's way to the target destination!
Otherwise dimensions and coordinates seems to be right, end-stops are working
etc, so I think I got the basic configuration right.

Is this behavior normal, are deltas not supposed to be smooth when travelling
slow? or what am I doing wrong?
I don't think that I have problems with the electronic setup, e.g. steppers seem
to run smooth when controlling them with custom code, so I'm leaning towards
that something is up with my configuration.

I've tried adjusting many of the parameters but with no visible change to the
problematic stuttering behavior.
The params that caught my interest a little more than others was the below ones: