Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Smoothie, Brainwave or arduino mega 2560, (Mini Kossel)

Posted by Lerathel 
Smoothie, Brainwave or arduino mega 2560, (Mini Kossel)
March 17, 2015 02:06PM
Im fairly new to reprap and im building a mini kossel. the frame parts are on the way and im building a BOM for the rest (hard sin him in canada and him getting screwed with the shipping price from us hahaha) but I need help choosing the electronics :

All option cost around 120$ if I add 4 drivers to the arduino2560, so wich one should I use and why ?

Thanks

Advice about arduino2560 clone for 15 $ ?
Re: Smoothie, Brainwave or arduino mega 2560, (Mini Kossel)
March 17, 2015 02:58PM
Hi,
I assume you mean the usual Arduino Mega 2560 + RAMPS 1.4 + Pololu-style drivers when you write "arduino2560".

At the risk of being hanged for blasphemy, I would advise you to just buy the following inexpensive electronics:

Arduino Mega 2560 clone: $ 10
Ramps 1.4 clone: $ 7
5 x DRV8825 drivers (clones): $10 (yes, one extra, they come in 5 anyways)
2004 LCD smart controller (clone): $ 12
80mm fan: $ 2

Grand total: $ 41. If you by any chance damage any component during the assembly, you won't be out by more than $10 or so.

Also buy a Raspberry Pi 2 (quad core) and a wifi dongle and 5V 2A supply: $55 or so. Use the RPi2 as a Wi-Fi accessible OctoPrint server.

OctoGoatBox

Enjoy your build and your mini Kossel when it's up and running!

Good luck!
March 17, 2015 03:11PM
The Google Deltabots group 25% off coupon code for Smoothieboards and accessories is good until the end of the month, and can be redeemed at either their USA or France distributors. Uberclock (USA distributor) is allegedly shut down for a week while they attend a maker festival, but it doesn't sound like you are in a pressing need to have a board in hand this week.