Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

So what kind of Delta should I pick?

Posted by mikes3ds 
So what kind of Delta should I pick?
March 23, 2015 06:34PM
Ok, after looking at many designs and getting suggestions from users, I finally leaning toward building a delta 3D printer; however, I cant pick what design I want to go with?

Any ideas?

Something that has some of the new technology. (Maybe, auto leveling/ calibration, dual head, smart extruder)
Normal size or large build area.
Price as cheap as I can make it but $300-$1000

I don't want a kit.

My experience: 
I am a Computer Engineer 
Built tons of robots, and other things; but first try to build 3d printer (love to tinker)

I have access to a: 
3D printer, laser cutter, wood working equipment and more 

What I am looking for: 
Solid design.
Rigid frame.
Normal size or large build area.
Price as cheap as I can make it but $300-$1000
Something that has some of the new technology. (Maybe a, auto leveling/ calibration, dual head, smart extruder)
I don't want a kit.
Re: So what kind of Delta should I pick?
March 24, 2015 03:01AM
Take a look at my Cherry Pi thread. There are three effector designs, one for Jhead with a built in limit switch for auto levelling (common consensus is that it's not really required for a delta), one for an E3D V5 clone and one for a true E3D Cyclops dual extruder. The 4XL version has a 300mm diameter build plate and 500mm plus Z height.

You can easily build any variant within your budget. It's a long thread but well worth a read through.
March 24, 2015 03:55AM
AndyCart
Take a look at my Cherry Pi thread. There are three effector designs, one for Jhead with a built in limit switch for auto levelling (common consensus is that it's not really required for a delta), one for an E3D V5 clone and one for a true E3D Cyclops dual extruder. The 4XL version has a 300mm diameter build plate and 500mm plus Z height.