Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hooking up the stepper motors on a Mini Kossel

Posted by Jonwpatte 
Hooking up the stepper motors on a Mini Kossel
April 25, 2015 10:55PM
Hello, new guy here, so I'm very new at this, so all the help is greatly appreciated.

I have built up a mini Kossel according to the Blomker build guide that has the recirculating balls on the carriage and a Merlin hot end.
I however am not sure how the stepper motors hook up on the RAMP board, and I'm not sure if I got them connected right.

So to be safe and sorry, I am needing some help on making sure that I connected them right.
Here is the rat's nest of wires with the stepper motors connected:

I'm using these stepper motors: NEMA17 Stepper Motor, 76 oz-in
The connectors are these:

Re: Hooking up the stepper motors on a Mini Kossel
April 26, 2015 01:23AM
I think your going to need to test it out. You wont burn out your motors if you plug them in backwards. I would say connect all the axis motors in one direction and connect it to a pc, once you do so test it out using something like pronterface, if you have them hooked up ok then your golden if the printer is moving backwards when you jog it then flip them on the ramps or in the firmware.

My Personal Blog. Build blog.
[engineerd3d.ddns.net]

Modicum V1 sold on e-bay user jaguarking11
April 26, 2015 05:42AM
Have a hand on the power switch when you send the first home command in case the motors move backwards, and set the carriages mid-way by hand so that you have reaction time to hit the switch if they move the wrong way. Even better, do the first test with the belts off, and just watch the motors spin.....
April 26, 2015 12:09PM
I do have another question, in regards to the power. I have looked everywhere on the internet to see how a power switch is hooked up on the printer, but the search has came up nothing that has anything to do with a write up on how to hook up one.