Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Delta calculator back to basics

Posted by cooldutchies 
Delta calculator back to basics
August 04, 2015 07:53AM
Hey Delta builders!

The Delta calculators are just too complex and have to many custom fields and fudge factors.
This calculation needs to be perfect.
Is it easyer to work out the frame size and arm length on paper?

From what i have found you need arms at 60 degrees in home centre position
You also need the nozzle to reach the edge of the desired build size without going below 20 degrees.

Simple math or what?
because my brain is melting hot smiley
Attachments:
open | download - Delta frame calculation.jpg (58.8 KB)
Re: Delta calculator back to basics
August 04, 2015 01:23PM
Add a top view to show the actual build size.
August 04, 2015 02:33PM
I'm far from a delta expert, so folks with opinions, feel free to correct me.

But I've built one printer and helped a friend configure another, and really the only thing I would be worried about is not going less than 20 degrees on the outside edge of your build area. Everything else can be accounted for in firmware.

You don't need 60 degrees in home center position: that's more of an incidental that comes with the arms being long enough to reach 20 degrees on the outside edge.

You want your two rods for each arm to be parallel of course, and you want your arms all to be the same length, but as long as you can reach everything you want to reach horizontally it's just math from there. Math that the firmware handles for you.
August 04, 2015 03:56PM
If you're assuming the length of the extrusion on the vertical and horizontal side is the input to the equation, I think that is invalid. It doesn't account for the offset from top and bottom to account for end stops, carriage vertical and horizontal, and bed height

[www.mathsisfun.com]