Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Marlin 1.1 RC2 Auto Calibration help

Posted by nebbian 
Marlin 1.1 RC2 Auto Calibration help
November 18, 2015 11:19PM
I've been printing with my Kossel Mini for a couple of months, it's working really well for me.

However the calibration is completely manual at the moment. If I notice that the skirt is printing a bit thicker on one side, then I do the paper test in 4 places and adjust my endstop screws until it prints flat. This system only takes a couple of minutes to do, and is accurate enough to work well.

What I would like to know is how to get the marlin autocalibration to work.

I have a working Z probe, with repeatability of better than 0.02mm.

Typing "G29" into Pronterface makes it deploy the probe, probe the whole bed in a grid pattern, then retract the probe. However I'm not sure that this process then adjusts its internal representation of the bed to print on it properly. I've spent two days searching for this information but it really isn't obvious to me what I'm supposed to do.

To be honest I don't need any more than three points, my bed is flat enough as it is and manual calibration works well enough so that I just want to avoid having to do the paper test occasionally.

Can anyone who has automatic bed levelling on a delta using Marlin please let me know what commands to send, to get Marlin to reset where it thinks the bed is, based on the probe?

Thanks in advance.
Re: Marlin 1.1 RC2 Auto Calibration help
November 19, 2015 12:15AM
G29 auto LEVELing

You run a print and you add g29 after g28 in your gcode file.
That way it will probe the bed and build a new plane of what the bed is.
Then it will use that as Z 0.

Now G30 A is auto calibrate. This probes the bed and adjusted end stops, rods, raduis etc.. . Which woukd be the same as manual calibrating the printer.
November 19, 2015 03:35AM
AFAIK G30 A is not part of Marlin 1.1.RC2, but RichCattels branch.