Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Geeetech Rostock delta 301 printer setup first use issues

Posted by mantaray 
Geeetech Rostock delta 301 printer setup first use issues
January 17, 2017 05:51PM
I'm new to 3D printers and I bought and assembled the Geeetech Rostock Delta 301 3 colour printer and when using the controls on the front to move x-y-z axis it chatters or shudders a lot when moving up with any stepper motor but moves smoothly in a downward direction. I've searched for troubleshooting info and didn't have much luck so I figured I'd ask here and hopefully someone can steer me in the right direction.

Thanks,

Justin.
Re: Geeetech Rostock delta 301 printer setup first use issues
January 18, 2017 12:40AM
Over 30 views and no opinions or ideas from anyone?

I tried the auto-home function and sometimes it works but mostly it goes to the top of the X-Y columns and the Z column seems to stick and then just shudder. Maybe there are some adjustments I can make? With the printer off it seems to slide freely by hand top to bottom on all axis.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Justin.
January 18, 2017 03:41AM
Insufficient motor current perhaps?

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
January 18, 2017 10:29AM
Thanks for your reply. To me it seems more mechanical but I'm not sure what/where to adjust. I'm testing it without any heaters on so it's just the three stepper motors, cooling fans, and the LCD display. The power supply is 12v 20a.

Justin.
January 19, 2017 11:11AM
I had the same problem but only on the x axis. You need to adjust the current on your stepper drivers. Use a multimeter and try to get a reading between .8v - 1v by turning the small pot. Mine was sitting at around .3v and had alot of problems moving.