Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Is Delta 3D Printer He3D K200 worth buying ?

Posted by maker101 
Is Delta 3D Printer He3D K200 worth buying ?
March 07, 2017 10:18AM
I am looking out for 3D Printer with large print area at a budget price . My purpose is for hobby and making lamp shades &vases . Due to budget constraint I have finally decided to go for a DIY , I am ready for the challenges of DIY smiling smiley . After doing a bit research I found that delta printers are good with speed and large print height . After some surfing I have found HE3D is selling K200 delta for $199 free shipping to my country Finland on this website .
Has anyone ever built this printer before and how much time It will take to build this ?
Re: Is Delta 3D Printer He3D K200 worth buying ?
March 07, 2017 02:08PM
I have no experience with it, but based on my very quick look, I believe the cooling on that E3D extruder (which is not a true E3D extruder) will be problematic, as it doesn't look like it leaves room for air to exit the other side. It also looks like a controller board I'm not familiar with.. not sure what it is, but it's not your typical low-cost RAMPS setup. Heated bed would sure be nice to have as well, but $50 for the option seems overpriced.
March 08, 2017 07:36AM
I don't know the He3D kit in particular, but if you are on a tight budget then I suggest you avoid deltas. Delta printers are my favourite configuration of 3D printer and can produce very good prints, but to get there without a lot of aggravation you need very precise geometry and good 32-bit electronics, preferably with full auto calibration built into the firmware. Budget kits have neither the accurate geometry or adequate electronics.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 03/08/2017 07:37AM by dc42.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].