Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Using nozzle as Z-Probe with a rocker mechanism (ARTICLE)

Posted by PurpleSensation 
Using nozzle as Z-Probe with a rocker mechanism (ARTICLE)
November 04, 2017 10:55AM
So I decided to develop some articles about things I designed for my own 3d Printer while I was building it. I think this analysis is useful for both the content itself and to show a cool way for exposing knowledge of something even in the internet community.

Enjoy, comment and add ideas. I have been using this mechanism for 3 years now and it has huge success on my printer. It is robust, accurate and precise. The article needs some points to develop, but I'm lazy and I receive no retribution for this so I'll take it easy.

[www.thingiverse.com]

Kisses

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/05/2017 07:35AM by PurpleSensation.
Attachments:
open | download - H. Salmerón Use of nozzle tip as height sensor with a rocker mechanism.pdf (219.9 KB)
Re: Using nozzle as Z-Probe with a rocker mechanism (ARTICLE)
November 04, 2017 03:11PM
My delta came with a bed-sensing mechanism similar to this. It wasn't worth the trouble, and I've been happily printing with *no* height sensing at all for years.

A key aspect in your design is the axis/hinge; any play in this hinge will be magnified by the length of the rocker arm when bed-sensing. Similarly, any play in the hinge will be magnified by the distance to the nozzle whilst printing. This should *not* be elastic, but very rigid. I don't think any 3D-printed hinge will be good enough. Probably it needs to be machined to tight tolerances, and rigidly attached to both the nozzle and effector.