Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Delta Segments per Second

Posted by lohiaprateek 
Delta Segments per Second
January 30, 2018 02:49AM
So I've been experimenting and trying to build my own delta for a few months now. And I needed some help with Marlin. I've reduced the Delta Segments per Second to 120 from the default 200, and it prints fine and I have no issues with the Delta stuttering, but the downside is that the printer is now printing much faster than what it was printing with 200 segments. Is this something that is normal from Marlin?

I previously had a smoothie based board and irrespective of the delta segments on smoothie the speed of the effector remained constant. I gave up using smoothie because of the horrible windows driver support and its continuous problem of locking up. I am also aware that duetwifi is a really amazing board, but I'm trying to make a relatively low cost printer and frankly the duetwifi is too expensive to fit into the budget.

Its a neat printer apart from this speed complication.
Attachments:
open | download - kossel.jpg (290.6 KB)
Re: Delta Segments per Second
January 30, 2018 03:03AM
You can define max. speed and acceleration with Marlin without changing the firmware. Just add M201 and M203 lines in the slicer startcode.
Only yerk setting needs to be addressed in firmware.
January 30, 2018 03:41AM
Sure, the problem the speed settings I was using with smoothie have to be halved when changing to Marlin with 120 segments, or else the printer is just all over the place and my extruder cant keep up. Is this normal?
January 30, 2018 12:11PM
IDK, I don't use Marlin for Deltas anymore. Also I'm no expert with smoothie. Maybe they set the speed in mm/min and Marlin needs mm/s?
January 30, 2018 12:43PM