Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Anycubic kossel extruding in the air

Posted by frazercampbell 
Anycubic kossel extruding in the air
February 23, 2018 11:55AM
Hi I printed a benchy perfect first time, but went to print another item and the printer is extruding about 2-3cm from the bed then randomly the nozzle will go further down and up from a few cm to scratching the bed, i have the auto levelling module and relevelled the bed, remeasured the z pos and input a new z offset but afterwards it still prints mid air and goes up and down by a few mm when its printing. The z offset seems weird as previously it was around -16.4 but now its around -1.7. Please help I've been trying to fix this for a while and I'm fairly new to printing so tell me if I'm being stupid!!!
Thanks so much Frazer.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/23/2018 12:36PM by frazercampbell.
Re: Anycubic kossel extruding in the air
February 24, 2018 02:54PM
1) Check belt tensions and puleys + tight the screws on the motors
2) At next, try to find out at which axes it is loosing steps
3) FInd aprropriate stepper driver and turn its resistor trimmer just a little counterclockwise (just about 1/8 - 1/4 of turn) Be gentle!!! - it can be easily broken by the screwdriver. This should put more power on that stepper motor winking smiley
3) If this doesn't work, swap that stepper driver with the 5th one. If your printer kit is the same as mine (there was many changes made by the manufacturer) the 5th stepper driver is there left as spare.
4) At least try to swap motor cable if it's not broken.

If you'll be lucky enought, you'll not have the same problem as me. Right now I have the same symptoms on my Anycubic Kossel Linear Plus.

My printer worked just fine for about first 8 prints. Now it prints ok at first 2-3 layers and after that one motor starts to skipping steps / failing every second or so and printing goes totaly wrong.